Many cards add a fee of about 3% to purchases made abroad. The list below covers eight debit and credit cards that charge no foreign transaction fee, or very little. Each entry gives the fees, who can get the card, and one real drawback. All terms were checked on November 4, 2026.
How This List Was Put Together
The list filters for fees that matter to someone who spends in many currencies. The main checks were the foreign transaction fee, the monthly or annual fee, the ATM fee, and whether the card is open to people who live outside one home country.
Entries go from the cards open in the most countries to the cards limited to one country. The US credit cards follow from the lowest annual fee to the highest. Card networks are named only where the issuer names them, because the network can differ by country and by card version.
Fees change often and differ by country. Each figure is worth confirming on the issuer’s own page before applying.
Three Fees to Check Before You Pick a Card
A card with no foreign transaction fee can still cost money in other ways. Three fees are worth separating.
- Foreign transaction fee: A charge from the card issuer on purchases made outside your home country. Chase gives an example on its Sapphire Preferred page, where $5,000 of foreign spending would otherwise carry $150 in fees, or 3%.
- Currency conversion fee: A charge for changing one currency into another. Some cards skip the foreign transaction fee but still charge a small conversion fee.
- ATM fee: The cash machine owner can charge its own fee, and some cards add a second fee on top.
On $2,000 of foreign spending a month, a 3% fee costs $60 a month, or $720 a year. The same spending on a card with no fee costs nothing in transaction fees.
Card machines and ATMs sometimes offer to charge you in your home currency. Choosing the local currency is the better option. Wise says choosing another currency leads to a higher conversion fee, and Schwab does not rebate fees that come from this type of conversion. The choice is one small part of how nomads manage currency exchange risk.

The Cards
1. Wise Card (Debit)
The Wise card is a debit card linked to a multi-currency account. The card suits people who hold money in more than one currency.
- Type: Debit.
- Foreign fee: Wise says it adds no markup to the mid-market rate. A conversion fee applies when the card has to change currencies, and Wise lists it as varying by currency, starting at 0.23%.
- Card and account fees: $9 to order a physical card in the US, free for a digital card, and no subscription fee.
- ATM fees: No Wise fee on the first $250 of withdrawals per calendar month. After that, each withdrawal costs $1.95 plus 1.95%.
- Who can get it: Wise lists the US (except Nevada residents), the UK, the EEA, Switzerland, Canada, Australia, New Zealand, Japan, Singapore, Malaysia, the Philippines, Brazil, Israel, and Thailand. Thailand is open only to accounts registered on or after January 21, 2026.
The US card page gives no single conversion fee for card spending, so the figure for your currency is worth checking in the app. Wise also says its Smart Conversion tool uses the balance with the lowest conversion fee when you spend in a currency you do not hold.
Nigeria is not on the list of countries where Wise cards are available. Readers there can look at the guide to opening a bank account without local residency instead.
Best for: Nomads in a supported country who hold balances in several currencies.
2. Revolut (Debit)

Revolut offers a debit card with a free plan and paid plans that raise the limits. Plans, fees, and limits differ by country.
- Type: Debit.
- Plan fees (US page, updated April 30, 2026): The Standard plan has no monthly fee. A fee page in pounds sterling lists Plus at £3.99, Premium at £7.99, and Metal at £14.99 per month.
- Foreign fee: On the US Standard plan, exchanges at the market rate are free up to $1,000 per monthly cycle. Above that, a 0.5% fee applies.
- Weekend fee: Exchanges outside market hours, from 5:00pm Friday to 6:00pm Sunday Eastern Time, cost 1.0%.
- ATM fees: In the US, Allpoint ATMs have no fee and other ATMs cost up to 2%. The pound-sterling page gives the free Standard allowance as five withdrawals up to £200 a month, then 2% with a £1 minimum.
The weekend fee and the monthly exchange limit are the main drawbacks. A nomad who changes a lot of money, or who often pays on weekends, may need a paid plan to keep costs low.
Best for: People who want a free account for light use and can move to a paid plan if the limits become a problem.
3. Schwab Bank Investor Checking (Debit)
Schwab Bank Investor Checking comes with the Schwab Bank Visa Platinum Debit Card. The card stands out for its ATM refund.
- Type: Debit, Visa network.
- Foreign fee: Schwab Bank does not charge a fee to convert US dollars to local currency. The ATM network or the local bank may charge its own fee, and the rate is set by that bank, the network, or Visa.
- Account fees: No monthly service fee and no overdraft fees.
- ATM fees: Unlimited rebates on cash withdrawals in local currency, anywhere the card is accepted. Rebates arrive as one credit on the periodic statement, and they do not cover dynamic currency conversion fees.
- Who can get it: The account must be linked to a Schwab One brokerage account. Schwab says its site is designed for US residents, and non-US residents face country-specific limits.
The rebate is paid after the fact, so the nomad pays the ATM fee first and waits for the refund. The brokerage link also adds a step that some people do not want.
Best for: US-based nomads who withdraw cash often and do not mind a brokerage account.
4. Fidelity Cash Management Account (Debit)

The Fidelity Cash Management Account has a Visa debit card issued by Leader Bank, N.A. Fidelity reimburses ATM fees worldwide.
- Type: Debit, Visa network.
- Foreign fee: Fidelity states that it does not charge foreign transaction fees.
- ATM fees: Unlimited reimbursement worldwide for fees charged by other institutions, at ATMs showing the Visa, Plus, or Star logos.
- Other terms: The page checked did not state a monthly fee, a minimum balance, or residency rules.
Fidelity warns that paying a foreign purchase in US dollars may use a different exchange rate from the market rate. Choosing the local currency at the terminal avoids the problem. The missing eligibility details mean that readers living outside the US should check Fidelity’s account terms before relying on this card.
Best for: US-based nomads who want a debit card with worldwide ATM reimbursement and no foreign transaction fee.
5. Capital One Quicksilver Cash Rewards (Credit)
The Quicksilver card is a no-annual-fee credit card with a flat cash back rate. The card costs the least of the credit cards on this list.
- Type: Credit.
- Foreign fee: None. Capital One says purchases outside the US carry no transaction fee.
- Annual fee: $0.
- Rewards: 1.5% cash back on purchases, with no cap on the page checked. Some versions add higher rates on groceries and gas.
- Who can get it: Approval depends on credit. Capital One does not state a minimum score on the page and offers an eligibility check with no credit score impact.
Cards need a credit history, and a US credit file usually helps. The card also has a network risk. According to NerdWallet, some Quicksilver cards moved from Mastercard to the Discover network in May 2026, and Discover has much more limited acceptance abroad than Visa or Mastercard. Capital One tells applicants the network before they apply. A second card from another network is a sensible backup.
Best for: Nomads who want a free credit card and carry a second card for places that do not accept Discover.
6. Chase Sapphire Preferred (Credit)

The Chase Sapphire Preferred card costs $95 a year and earns points that are useful for travel.
- Type: Credit.
- Foreign fee: None. Chase says there are no foreign transaction fees on purchases made outside the United States.
- Annual fee: $95.
- Rewards: 5x points on travel booked through Chase Travel, 3x on dining and several other categories, 2x on other travel, and 1x on everything else.
- Who can get it: Subject to credit approval. Chase does not publish a minimum score on the page.
The $95 fee is worth paying only if the points are used. A nomad who spends little on travel and dining may do as well with a no-fee card. Chase also notes that some bonus offers do not apply to purchases made outside the US.
Best for: Nomads who spend on travel and dining and will use the points for flights or hotels.
7. Capital One Venture X (Credit)
The Venture X is a premium travel card with an annual fee of $395. The card adds lounge access to the no-foreign-fee benefit.
- Type: Credit.
- Foreign fee: None. Capital One says there is no transaction fee on purchases outside the US.
- Annual fee: $395.
- Rewards: 10X miles on hotels and rental cars and 5X on flights and vacation rentals booked through Capital One Travel, and 2X on all other purchases.
- Perks: Access to Capital One Lounges and more than 1,300 Priority Pass lounges, which require enrollment and depend on space.
- Who can get it: Capital One lists an “Excellent” credit level and gives no minimum score.
The fee is high compared with the other cards here. The card makes sense only for someone who flies often enough to use the lounges and the miles. The guide to travel credit cards for earning free flights covers how nomads use sign-up bonuses and miles to lower flight costs.
Best for: Frequent flyers who will use the lounge access and travel rewards.
8. Monzo (Debit, UK Residents)
Monzo is a UK bank with a debit card that passes on the Mastercard exchange rate. Monzo is open to UK residents only.
- Type: Debit, Mastercard exchange rate.
- Foreign fee: None on debit or credit cards, according to Monzo. The Mastercard rate is passed through with no added cost.
- Plan fees: The personal account is free. Extra costs £3, Perks starts at £9, and Max starts at £19 per month.
- ATM fees: Unlimited fee-free withdrawals in the EEA when Monzo is the main account. Outside the EEA, £200 is free every 30 days, then 3%.
- Who can get it: UK residents only.
Monzo’s page shows two figures for fee-free withdrawals outside the UK and EEA, £200 and £600, and does not say which plan the higher figure applies to. Check Monzo’s fee information before relying on it. The UK residency rule also rules the card out for many nomads.
Best for: UK residents who travel and want a free account with no foreign transaction fee.
Get Paid and Stay Banked Too
Cards handle spending. Getting paid by clients in other countries is a separate task, covered in the guide to payment platforms for overseas clients.
Many nomads carry two cards from different networks, so a lost card or a terminal that rejects one network does not leave them without a way to pay. This article gives general information and is not legal, tax, or financial advice. A licensed professional can help with individual circumstances.
Search Flights Once Your Card Is Sorted
Eight cards, three types of fee, and a habit of paying in local currency can cut much of the cost of foreign spending. After a card is chosen, search flights on FlyBibe and book your next base with wifi, visa rules, and costs already in view. Issuers change fees and eligibility from time to time, so each card’s terms are worth checking again before applying.

